Skip to main content

Cape Fear History & Heritage

The State and Local History Collection houses materials which relate to North Carolina, with a concentration on Southeastern North Carolina. This is a non-circulating collection.

Cape Fear History & Heritage

Special Collections and Archives of NHCPL


We focus on the heritage and history of the people, places, culture, and natural environment of the Cape Fear region, the City of Wilmington, and the great state of North Carolina. 


  • Housed in the North Carolina Room, much of the Collection has been handed down through several former public and private libraries dating back to the Cape Fear Library of 1760.

  • Although emphasis has been placed on collecting information about Southeastern North Carolina, the collection includes materials from across the State.

  • Visitors may now use our new ScanPro 3000 microfilm machine to view film and create PDF's of desired articles.

Visiting Special Collections & Archives: FAQs


  • Requests from citizens of New Hanover County are taken first. Others are answered in the order received.
     
  • The cost for simple research is 15 cents per photocopy, plus postage.
     
  • Extensive research requires a trip to the library. Before your visit, please contact us so we can anticipate your needs and be sure staff is available.
     
  • All research must be done in the NC Room, state & local materials cannot be checked out.
     
  • A copy machine (15 cents) and a microfilm printer (25 cents) are available to make copies.
     
  • Some materials are too rare/fragile to be copied. Materials within locked cases requires ID for access.
     
  • Pencils must be used when working in the NC Room.
Loading

New History Titles

Book Banner
Main Library & Law Library 201 Chestnut Street • Wilmington, NC 28401 • Phone 910-798-6301 • Hours M-T 9-8 W-Th 9-6 Fri-Sat 9-5 Sun 1-5 (NC Room Closed)
Northeast Regional Library 1241 Military Cutoff Road • Wilmington, NC 28405 • Phone 910-798-6371 • Hours M-T 9-8 W-Th 9-6 Fri-Sat 9-5 Sun 1-5
Myrtle Grove Library 5155 South College Road • Wilmington, NC 28412 • Phone 910-798-6391 • Hours M-T 9-8 W-Th 9-6 Fri-Sat 9-5 Sun 1-5
Pleasure Island Library 1401 N. Lake Park Boulevard • Carolina Beach, NC 28428 • Phone 910-798-6385 • Hours M-Th 9-6 Fri 9-5 Sat 9-1 Sun Closed